Team Activate Go Initiative Advances to Regional Tournament

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Team 458 with Finalist Alliance Award

Team 458 with Finalist Alliance Award

The FTC-Iowa State Robotics Tournament was held Saturday, February 22nd at the Coralville Hotel and Convention Center. Forty-two Iowa teams and six teams from neighboring states competed. They were all hoping for one of the 15 spots that will be awarded to the FTC North Regional Tournament which will be held in 15,400 seat Carver Hawkeye Arena April 3-5. There were 163 registered Iowa teams this year. These teams and teams from other states competed in 15 FTC-Iowa qualifying tournaments this winter and the top teams made it to yesterday’s tournament.
One of Mount Vernon’s two teams, Team 458, Activate Go Initiative! won the Finalist Alliance Award and, therefore, qualified to compete in the upcoming Regional Tournament. Their alliance, which included teams from Williamsburg and Humboldt won the semifinal match but lost in the finals.
 Video of 458’s robot scoring blocks in practice:
FTC Team 458 Activate Go Initiative!
Robert Banwart, Kate Elsbury, Jared Jackson, Josh Lynch, Macon, Kai Walberg, Alex White, and project manager, Paul Chihak. Banwart, Jackson, Macon, White, and Chihak are seniors and been members of Mount Vernon’s Robotics Club for four years.
Team 3549 at Judge's interview

Team 3549 at Judge’s interview

Mount Vernon’s other team, 3549, Born To Be Wired!, finished the qualification matches with 3 wins and 3 losses and did not make it in the tournament.

FTC Team 3549 Born To Be Wired!
Nathaniel Barnhart, Chris Cripe, Isaiah Exley Schuman, Matt Hermsen White, Adam Gage, Joe Godfrey, Tony Kraus, Gage Lochner, Laura Player, Mackenzie Smith; Everett Thompson, and project manager, Drew Keller. Smith and Keller are the only seniors on this team.
Video of 458’s semifinal victory:

Team 3549’s Judge’s intro video:

Team 458’s Judge’s intro video:


Video of 3549’s match against 3550 Beta (Inspire Award winner at last year’s World Championship: